Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Wiring for light in blast cabinet

So I'm going the cheap route and getting a blast cabinet that doesn't have a light kit with it. I noticed a light kit I can buy for $40 but I know I can make one about $30 cheaper than that. I was thinking of getting a cheap outside light that you mount by your entry door, a light switch and switch box. My question is the wiring. I have my old plug and wiring off of my old compressor that I scrapped the motor on and some house wiring downstairs. Do I go from the switch, to the light, and wire in the plug at the light? Or do I go from the light, to the switch, and wire the plug to the switch? I'm not an electrician as you can see...I know the difference in the black, white, and green wires though! I guess thats a good start...
    *Experienced Custom Powder Coater*

Loudin's Powder Coating

Re: Wiring for light in blast cabinet

Make sure your outside light fixture is waterproof. If it's waterproof, it will be sand proof. Water resistant does NOT equal waterproof. What comes to mind are those housings that have a screw on glass jelly jar over the bulb. It should have some sort of rubber gasket in it. I would also silicon the base of the light housing to the cabinet (along with bolting) and also silicone any voids in the housing itself. You don't want any blast media in there at all.

Here's a simple diagram.

The neutral (white) doesn't wire into the switch, it goes straight to the light. What I would add to this diagram though is the ground (green) wire tying the switch and light fixture together and to the cord. There should be a green screw on both the switch and the light housing for this purpose.

You can probably go straight out the side of the blast cabinet from the light into the switch box with a short nipple. I did something similar on my switch for my bender:

Use your plug/cord from the old compressor and you can use wire nuts to mate everything together.