Thread: Hobart Handler

Hobart Handler

Hey guys,

I haven't been on for quite a while. It's been a crazy summer. Nice to be back and a little less busy working so I can maybe get back to some my projects.

Well I've finally had it with my old POS Craftsman 110, Crack Model A (Nickname) MIG. It's got to the point that you can't even expect it to break consistently let alone weld consistently. Not to mention that it struggles with anything thicker than sheet metal.

I've been eying the relatively new Hobart Handler 187. From what I've read, it seems to be the best bang for the buck. My max budget right now is around $600 and Tractor Supply Co has one in stock near me for $599.99. I may have to wait till after X-Mass so I'm not in a huge rush.

Has anyone had any experience with this welder? I'm far from a pro but I don't want to out grow it in a year either.

On another note: How the hell can different stores vary SO MUCH in price? This welder is a perfect example. TSC has it for $599.99. My local, privately owned, Hardware/Building Supply store has the same one for......get this.....$869! I know he doesn't have the buying power of the big boys but that isn't even close to competitive.

Anyway, thanks for any advice or feedback you may have.
    In my family, goodness is just badness that hasn't had a drink yet. -Christopher Titus

Re: Hobart Handler

If I have said it once I have said it a 1,000 times the HH187 is tops in the 180 amp MIG class..... I personally have the HH210 as I wanted the SG well and also I wanted the new big boy toy .... the HH187 is a great machine on both ends as well as the middle... it has a very similar low side arc as the HH140 and has enough ass the handle 1/4" steel with no problems...... for a $600 budget it gets my vote every time.....keep any eye on toolking.com as they have the handlers in stock some times for less $ http://www.toolking.com/category/too...d-welders.aspx