Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Anyone installed their own prefinished hardwood floors?

I'm considering this in the next couple of weeks. Turns out my wife is heading out of town for a boondoggle with her family for her Dad's 70th and I'd like to surprise her and have it done when she returns.

Since I finished renovating our master suite (nothing major), we've had a carpet remnant on top of CDX subfloor (glued and screwed to the original T&G floor which was not worth saving)

I did laminate floors on the 3rd floor of my house (kids level) and wanted something nicer for our area. Will likely replace the laminate floor "someday" on the 3rd floor, but it's OK for now.

I know my way around the wood shop...

I'm just beginning to look into this - any suggestions are welcome.
    My vehicle sites: 1993 Toyota 4Runner & 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee

**NEW** - UZswap.com - a site dedictated to sharing tech about swapping Toyota V8's into 4Runners and Trucks

Re: Anyone installed their own prefinished hardwood floors?

Cebby: I installed hardwood floors in my house. This was the first time I have done this and it took me about 4 days total. It is not very easy to do and you have to go by the instruction to get it looking right. After I finished them they looked great. That will be the last time I do that again. If you go this way I hope your back is in good shape, because by the time I was finished mine sure did hurt.

Art

Well that’s how I spent New Year ’s Day, putting down a pre-finished wood floor in my parents kitchen

Between me, my fiancé, mom and dad we did it in one day but they had concert slab so we had to glue it down which is slow and messy

Since you have a wood sub floor and will be able to use one of those flooring nailers I would think it would do able in a weekend